Stillwater Lawyer BlogFacing A Possession Of Methamphetamine Charge In Oklahoma: What Now?

possession of methamphetamine in OklahomaFor many years, Oklahoma had among the harshest drug laws in the country. But starting July 2017, the laws for possession of a controlled dangerous substance were changed. Possession of methamphetamine in Oklahoma is now a misdemeanor offense as long as the amount is small. Okla. Stat. tit. 63 § 2-402

Simple Possession Of Methamphetamine In Oklahoma

It is a misdemeanor in Stillwater, Oklahoma for any person to knowingly or intentionally possess a controlled dangerous substance (drugs) unless that substance was obtained directly or pursuant to a valid prescription or order from a practitioner acting within the course of his or her professional practice.

Simple possession is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000. If convicted, a defendant must also pay a $100 fee to the Trauma Care Assistance Revolving Fund.

In Oklahoma, a “controlled dangerous substance” is a drug or substance which is categorized in Schedules I through V of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act of Oklahoma. Okla. Stat. tit. 63 § 2-101

Oklahoma classifies its controlled substances by schedules based upon the level of addictive risk balanced against medical need and other factors. These schedules include both illegal drugs and drugs that must be prescribed by a doctor. Okla. Stat. tit. 63 §§ 2-204 et seq.

When Does Simple Possession Become Something Else Under Oklahoma Law?

Possessing more than 20 grams of methamphetamine could lead to a charge of drug trafficking — a serious felony in Stillwater, Oklahoma. If you are caught in possession of enough of a controlled substance, the law imputes that you are intending to sell or distribute the drug.

The penalty for trafficking methamphetamine is four years in prison and a fine between $20,000 and $200,000. If you get caught with greater than 200 grams of meth, you will face a fine between $50,000 and $500,000 in addition to prison time. Okla. Stat. tit. 63 § 2-415

So, to sum up. If you have been caught with less than 20 grams of methamphetamine, you will face simple possession misdemeanor charges. If you were caught with 20 grams or more of methamphetamine in your possession, you will face felony charges.

When you are facing drug charges, all prison time is harsh. Bring your questions, concerns, and needs to an experienced Stillwater criminal defense lawyer.

Free Consultation With A Stillwater OK Attorney

Wirth Law Office – Stillwater is here to help you when you need it the most.

We offer a free consultation with an experienced Stillwater OK attorney to help you defend your legal rights. Don’t try to handle your legal matter by yourself.

Call 405-673-1600 for a free consultation or submit a question through this website.

Bookmark and Share